Eight Named Commended Students

Pictured front row (l-r): Anna Kelly, Hana Kang, Mary Sullivan. Back row (l-r): Finn Doyle, Blake Savage, Mark Khairallah, Lukas Ward and Luke DeLorenzo.

Christian Brothers Academy Principal Paul Gasparini announced recently that eight students have been named Commended Students in the 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Those students include: Luke DeLorenzo, Finn Doyle, Hana Kang, Anna Kelley, Mark Khairallah, Blake Savage, Mary Sullivan, and Lukas Ward.

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2023 competition for National Merit Scholarship Awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 students who entered the 2023 competition by taking the 2021 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

“Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC. “Those students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”